Message sent from:


St Hybald’s Academy trust is a charitable company limited by guarantee. It has two layers of governance:

The members of the trust are akin to shareholders and have ultimate control over the direction of the Academy Trust. They ensure the charitable company achieves its objectives, signs off the financial accounts and annual report. They may also be required to appoint new directors as and when vacancies arise.

Please click on the link to view list of members: https://beta.companieshouse.gov.uk/company/08003909/officers

At St Hybald’s Academy we have a maximum of five members:-

Mr S Bontoft-  s.bontoft@sthybalds.org.uk

Mr J Irving-     j.irving@sthybalds.org.uk

Mr A West

Mrs N Beel

The Directors of the trust are responsible for the three core strategic functions along with ensuring compliance with Charity & Company Law and the Academy's Trust Funding Agreement. The members of the Trust are also Directors.

The three core strategic functions are: 

1-Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

2-Holding the Executive Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils

3-Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure it's money is well spent.


Stuart Bontoft- (Chair of Directors)- s.bontoft@sthybalds.org.uk

John Irving- (Vice Chair of Directors)-  j.irving@sthybalds.org.uk

Alan West


Zoe Birchall  (Executive Headteacher)


Matthew Clarke

Jason Brister

Other Directors

Sarah Anderson (Medical Needs)

Neil Reeder

Finance and resources committee members

A West

S Bontoft

J Irving

Z Birchall

V Bowers

M Clarke